• LATEST BOOK:

    Kindle and paperback available on Amazon.  

    Learn to see yourself as others do and become magnetic, magnanimous, and memorable! Savvy advice, specific examples, and tactical exercises to develop your presence—in months, not years.

  • Winner in the Business-Motivational category for 2012

  • Hit #2 in HOT NEW RELEASES in Women & Business on Amazon!

    Book Cover Art

    AN AMAZON BESTSELLER

    "Great graduation present!"

    Inspired to extend a helping hand to ambitious women working in corporate America, a veteran executive offers honest, practical, slightly irreverent advice about navigating companies that are run and populated predominately by men: how to interpret their sometimes surprising behavior, avoid common mistakes, flourish with the good guys, deal with the bad guys, and nurture a wonderful, satisfying career in a non-traditional role.

  • Links to Booksellers:

    Paperback, Kindle and Audio versions available here on Amazon.

    Paperback and ePub version available here at Powells.

    Audio version available here at audible.com.

    Paperback and Nook versions available here at Barnes & Noble.

    Paperback version available here at Alibris.

    Paperback and ePub versions available here at BookDepository.com (free shipping worldwide).

    ePub version available here on diesel-ebooks.

    ePub version available here on eBookMall.

  • TABLE OF CONTENTS

    The Spirit of the Discreet Guide
    FIRST PRINCIPLES
    The Facts of Life
    In and Out of the Men’s Room
    Tuning In and Dropping Out
    Hold It Right There, Lady
    Skeptical Spectacles and a Critical-Thinking Cap
    YOUR SISTAS AND YOU
    Whose Girl Are You?
    Taking Care
    You’re Different, and That’s Only Mostly Bad
    Impressions and the Real Thing
    Sistas
    EARLY MANEUVERS
    School Days
    Your First Company
    The Cubette
    NAVIGATION TIPS
    Guiding Lights
    The Big C’s: Competition, Challenge, and Conflict
    DANGER—FALLING COCONUTS
    Sit Down and Shut Up
    How Do You Get Anything Done?
    He Doesn’t Think You’re Very Smart
    But Don’t Be Dumb
    TOUCHY SUBJECTS
    After Hours
    One-on-One: Danger Zones
    Sex At Work
    GUYS, GUYS, GUYS
    The Big Guy
    The Good Guys
    International Guys
    The Messed-Up Ones
    Bad Guys
    Super Bad Guys
    YOU’RE A BIG GIRL NOW
    Managing—Between a Rock and a Hard Place
    Work—Why You’re Paid
    THE EXECUTIVE WOMAN’S DILEMMA
    What? I Can’t Hear You
    Courage
    Common Sense
    A Powerful Combination
    THE PRIDE OF THE LIONESS
    Power and Risk
    Leadership
    THE DIAMOND

Reviews of the Discreet Guide

“Although it trades a bit heavily in gender stereotypes, both male and female, Crittenden’s book is a practical guide that has much to offer any woman seeking to bolster her career.”
–Library Journal

“Succeeding in business and being your own woman comes with its own share of problems as you climb the tumultuous corporate ladder. “The Discreet Guide for Executive Women: How to Work Well with Men (and Other Difficulties)” is a guide for business women who find themselves in a position of power and want to create a harmonious environment in fields where misogyny often reigns highly. Vital reading for any woman who wants to navigate the toxic corporate culture, “The Discreet Guide for Executive Women” is a fine and much recommended pick for career and women’s studies collections.” —Mary Cowper, Midwest Book Review

“I would recommend it to any woman who wants to know how to succeed in a male-dominated environment. It offers a wealth of good advice.” —Alan Caruba, Bookviews
 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS FROM AMAZON:

***** (Five out of Five Stars) “A Must-Have Book for the Aspiring Female Executive,” May 7, 2012

By Karin Eastham

Clever, witty, and full of useful information for the aspiring female executive. Jennifer does a superb job in capturing all the key issues that women will face in their careers in this still male-dominated business world. Great stories, great guidance and wonderful humor are laced throughout this book. An easy read and a must-read for young female business professionals.
 
***** (Five out of Five Stars) “Professional Women Look Here,” April 8, 2012

By EPatrick
The subtitle of this book caught my attention; How to Work Well with Men. Jennifer does a good job of spilling the ins and outs of corporate America (and a little international advice too). It’s written as a guide of how to get ahead, spot and diffuse behaviors, and how to avoid uncomfortable situations you would not normally think about (attire, dating at work and business travel). It’s also written in a friendly way that makes you want to have the author as your boss not a “you must do this to this, because I did” type of language.

I would highly recommend this book to any woman in the corporate world, not just future executives. I work in a male dominated company and plan to pass this book along to my fellow outnumbered sisters.
 
***** (Five out of Five Stars) “A “Must Have” in every woman’s bucket of resources…,” March 5, 2012

By M.C. Mathis

Amazon Verified Purchase

A great book to have, and give as a gift, for any women entering into the corporate world. This book is an easy read due to the chronological layout of the chapters which starts of with smart strategic advice searching for your first job (very critical) and then the types of experiences/challenges you will encounter as you go up the ladder. Wish I had this when I graduated from college!

 

***** (Five out of Five Stars) “Very useful guide for women starting in business!,” February 15, 2012

By ML

This book is a very honest and real representation of what women face working in male-dominated firms. I wish I could give a copy to every other young professional woman I know who is starting out. I laughed my way through the stories and remembered funny, embarrassing, and great moments and revelations of my own! It serves as a wake-up call to women who think they can’t get ahead. This book outlines ways to get ahead by being smart, honest, and aware. Jennifer is a great writer and this is a fun book to read!

 

***** (Five out of Five Stars) “A MUST read for Women!,” February 10, 2012

By Linda A. Sullivan (Westfield, IN United States)
Amazon Verified Purchase

Where was this book when I was starting out? It would have saved me from learning everything the hard way. As an experienced professional woman, it is enlightening to see that my path wasn’t unique and the obstacles I have encountered are familiar to others. Great advice without being preachy and FUN to read.

 

***** (Five out of Five Stars) “specific observations and advice,”  February 7, 2012

By Kathie
Amazon Verified Purchase

This writer tells it like it is, and then how to meet the challenges.

The first hand experience of the author shines in detailed scenarios used to define problems. Her 20 years in corporate life add credibility to the advice in this cheerful book.

The structure of the book adds to the ease and pleasure of reading, and the generous treatment of difficult problems is unique in this subject matter.

 

*****  (Five out of Five Stars)  “Sound advice, fun to read.“,February 2, 2012

By Anonymous
Amazon Verified Purchase

Although I am not a businessperson, I found the advice in this book sound and helpful for steering my career. Plus the book is fun and easy to read because of the entertaining and enlightening stories.

 

***** (Five out of Five Stars)  “refreshing addition to the woman exec’s wardrobe”,February 1, 2012

By Reading Afficionado “Cindy” (San Diego, CA)

A great companion to the up and coming woman executive! Informative, practical and heartfelt, this guide gives pragmatic advice garnered from real life experiences by the author, a successful executive in her own right. Also encouraging, The Discreet Guide reminds us that we can play in the sand box with the boys, enjoy it, get respect and be successful as well.

 

From eBookMall.com:
**** (Four out of Four Stars) “Captivating”

The Discreet Guide for Executive Women: How to Work Well with Men (and Other Difficulties) written by Jennifer K. Crittenden is a quite poetic book, but instructive at the same time. It does not match my tastes really much, as it emphasizes only one perspective, not being analytically and critically enough. Anyway, it is an instructive, practical guide for women working in executive positions, but also for those who feel dominated at work by their bosses. It is quite readable, more like a late night reading and I found it very pleasant.

 
**** (Four out of Four Stars) “Helpful Book”

I am a woman working in this male-dominated world, and I found this book to be really insightful and helpful. It was recommended to me by a friend who is also a woman in the workforce, and sometimes has trouble or is just baffled by the men we work with.

 

My personal favorite (via email):
GOT YOUR BOOK AND CAN’T STOP READING

 

 

 

  • Sign up for The Pergola, a free bi-monthly digital magazine

  • Archived Issues

    Clik here for the "Stage Fright" Issue - Mar 2017.

    Click here for the "Women's March" Issue - Jan 2017.

    Click here for the "Executive Presence" Issue - Nov 2016.

    Click here for the "New Opportunity, i.e., Looking for Work" Issue - Sep 2016.

    Click here for the "Business Travel" Issue - July 2016.

    Click here for the "Bully" Issue - May 2016.

    Click here for the "Men, Women, and Money" Issue - March 2016.

    Click here for the "Boss" Issue - January 2016.

    Click here for the November 2015 Apology Edition.

    Click here for the September 2015 Single Mother Edition.

    Click here for the July 2015 Negotiation Edition.

    Click here for the May 2015 Birthday Edition.

    Click here for the Mar 2015 First Edition.

  • Invest in Yourself! Executive Presence

    Customized one-on-one consulting program to enhance your presence, both professionally and personally. Available from anywhere. Starts anytime. Ten 90-minute individualized sessions. Private and confidential. More info
  • Straight Talk Logo
  • Trailer for Exceptional Presence Program

  • Experts About the Presence of Others

  • JENNIFER K. CRITTENDEN
  • Latest Tweets

    DiscreetGuide
  • About the Author

    Raised on a farm in southern Indiana by an idealistic professor and a feminist homemaker, and after language and film studies in Europe, Jennifer was an unlikely candidate to graduate from a leading business school and enter corporate America. To her surprise, she excelled in her new world and spent the next twenty years building a scintillating career, rising from Financial Analyst to Chief Financial Officer and Corporate Secretary, working for big pharma and biotech companies in the US, Europe, and the UK.

    Read her LinkedIn profile.

  • Audiobook

    Audiobook Icon Audiobook now available at audible.com! Click here
  • Meta